March 4, 2024 7:01 am

ISED gave nearly 900K to anti-oil charity Equiterre in the months after Guilbeault resigned as head

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
WhatsApp
Telegram

URGENT: JUST 11 DAYS REMAIN TO HELP SAVE INDEPENDENT MEDIA & ANR, TO ENSURE WE ARE FULLY FUNDED FOR NEXT MONTH,SO LET'S CUT THE BS & GET TO THE POINT - WE WILL BE FORCED LAY OFF STAFF & REDUCE OPERATIONS UNLESS WE ARE FULLY FUNDED WITHIN THE NEXT 2 WEEKS - Sadly, less than 0.5% of readers currently donate or subscribe to us But YOU can easily change that. Imagine the impact we'd make if 3 in 10 readers supported us today. To start with we’d remove this annoying banner as we could fight for a full year...



























ISED, formerly the Department of Industry, gave the registered environmental charity that has travelled internationally to lobby against Canadian industry, at least four separate grants totaling $840,000 since January 2019.

Environment Minister Steven Guilbeault was the head and a founder of Equiterre until October 2018, when he left to seek elected office as a Liberal.

The grants to Equiterre all coincide with Guilbeault becoming the presumed Liberal candidate for the Quebec riding of Laurier-Sainte Marie. He was elected in October 2019, officially announced his intention to run as a candidate in June the same year but was widely assumed to become the Liberal choice for the nomination as early as his resignation from Equiterre in October 2018.

The data relating to the payments to Equiterre, the first of which was in May 2019, was admitted in the House of Commons in a whole-of-government inquiry posed by Conservative MP Arpan Khanna who asked for the details of the government’s funding to advocacy and lobby groups since January 2019.

ISED paid Equiterre $250,000 to help “represent consumers.”

Equiterre currently has an active letter-writing campaign to get natural gas out of homes, and are lobbying against gas-powered cars and plastics, a 14-billion-dollar annual industry.

There were two more $200,000 grants to Equiterre, and two more in the $90,000 range, for a total of $840,000 to Equiterre from ISED for “advocacy.”

While Guilbeault was the boss of Equiterre, in March 2017, the organization, as part of the Council of Canadians delegation to Europe, travelled to lobby against Canadian oil and gas.

Read the documents:



Source link

Opinion pieces don’t necessarily reflect the position of our news site but of our Opinion writers.

Original Source: ISED gave nearly 900K to anti-oil charity Equiterre in the months after Guilbeault resigned as head

Support the ANR from as little as $8 – it only takes a minute. If you can, please consider supporting us with a regular amount each month. Thank you.

Let’s not lose touch…Your Government and Big Tech are actively trying to censor the information reported by The ANR to serve their own needs. Subscribe now to make sure you receive the latest uncensored news in your inbox…

Australian National Review is Australia’s first real free and independent press, one with no editorial control by the elite, but a publication that can generate critical thinkers and critical debate and hold those spreading mistruths and deliberate propaganda in mainstream media to account.

News with a difference that will be educational, compelling and create a platform for political and social change in this country and address the real issues facing this country and the world.

Discover more from ANR

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Watch Full Documentary

URGENT: JUST 3 DAYS REMAIN TO HELP SAVE INDEPENDENT MEDIA & ANR, SO LET'S CUT THE BS & GET TO THE POINT - WE WILL BE FORCED TO LAY OFF STAFF & REDUCE OPERATIONS UNLESS WE ARE FULLY FUNDED WITHIN THE NEXT 2 WEEKS

Sadly, less than 0.5% of readers currently donate or subscribe to us But YOU can easily change that. Imagine the impact we'd make if 3 in 10 readers supported us today. To start with we’d remove this annoying banner as we could fight for a full year...

Get access to TruthMed- how to save your family and friends that have been vaxx with vaccine detox, & how the Unvaxxed can prevent spike protein infection from the jabbed.

Free with ANR Subscription from $8